Raghubar Das - Jharkhand's first non-Tribal Chief Minister

BJP Legislature Party in Jharkhand on unanimously elected Raghubar Das as its leader.

Since Jharkhand was carved out of Bihar in 2000, the State had seen nine Governments headed by five Chief Ministers. With Raghubar Das's election as the leader of BJP Legislature Party, the State gets the first non-Tribal Chief Minister.

Das's election as the BJP Legislature Party leader was made at a meeting of newly elected MLAs in Ranchi. Union Health Minister JP Nadda and BJP vice-president Vinay Sahashrabuddhe also attended the meeting as central observers.

59 years old Das is a five-time legislator from Jamshedpur East. In this Assembly election he won from Jamshedpur East Assembly constituency by a huge margin of 70 thousand plus votes.

Raghubar enjoys a clean image. He is currently the national vice president of the BJP. Das had earlier held the office of Deputy Chief Minister, Urban Development Minister of Jharkhand.

Courtesy Niti Central


Latest News