Cabinet expansion: Portfolio allocations and message of PM Modi.

The allocation of portfolios has sent a clear message from the Prime Minister. Perform or perish. In certain ways this is probably is the best for a nation like India which has mostly seen Prime Ministers succumb to political pressures and abandon those who have the ability to address the needs of Ministries. While the Prime Minister should decide whom he wants it has not been that way for many long years. In 2009, when, Manmohan Singh wanted to keep A Raja out of the Cabinet, he failed to do so since his political boss, party president and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi wanted to keep DMK happy. Earlier during NDA 1, at Bal Thackeray’s insitance, Vajpayee-led Government was forced to drop Suresh Prabhu as the Power Minister, despite being efficient and effective. Compulsions of alliance politics can well precede choice of those who are able and competent.

Such is not the case here. Even with Shiv Sena trying to throw tantrums and expressing deep resentment over the inclusion of Suresh Prabhu; team Modi delivered its message loud and clear, when Prabhu resigned from Shiv Sena and joined BJP, depriving Uddhav Thackeray the privilege of sacking him from his party.

It also reflected PM Modi’s commitment towards excellence and performance. He can go to any extent to get people who can deliver. Suresh Prabhu’s inclusion in the cabinet and being allocated with the big portfolio of Railway Ministry shows that PM wants results and if not delivered, he will initiate corrective measures. Inclusion of former Goa CM, Manohar Parrikar as the Defence Minister also shows that he doesn’t want temporary arrangements. Defence would also be a critical sector since not only lot of bog ticket purchases are on the cards, but with neighbours flexing their muscles off and on, there would be need for a full time political guide to the ongoing tussles.

Shifting out Harsh Vardhan, Sadanda Gowda and relieving RS Prasada from Law were strong statements on their performance. Ministers of State were not shunted out or portfolios changed, may be because he still wants to give them some more time. But Ministers will have to remain clear focussed on their job at hand and deliver. Now they don’t have reasons to say that they are bogged down by the burden of multiple Ministries. However, the next phase can be ticking out people if perceptible positive results are not seen.

Here’s the final list of the Council of Ministers and their allocated portfolios.

Cabinet Ministers

1. Shri Rajnath Singh: Home Affairs

2. Smt. Sushma Swaraj: External Affairs, Overseas Indian Affairs

3. Shri Arun Jaitley: Finance, Corporate Affairs, Information & Broadcasting

4. Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu: Urban Development, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation, Parliamentary Affairs

5. Shri Nitin Jairam Gadkari: Road Transport and Highways, Shipping

6. Shri Manohar ParrikarDefence

7. Shri Suresh PrabhuRailways

8. Shri D.V. Sadananda Gowda: Law & Justice

9. Sushri Uma Bharati: Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation

10. Dr. Najma A. Heptulla: Minority Affairs

11. Shri Ramvilas Paswan: Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution

12. Shri Kalraj Mishra: Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises

13. Smt. Maneka Sanjay Gandhi: Women and Child Development

14. Shri Ananthkumar: Chemicals and Fertilizers

15. Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad: Communications and Information Technology

16. Shri Jagat Prakash NaddaHealth & Family Welfare

17. Shri Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati: Civil Aviation

18. Shri Anant Geete: Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises

19. Smt. Harsimrat Kaur Badal: Food Processing Industries

20. Shri Narendra Singh Tomar: Mines, Steel

21. Shri Chaudhary Birender SinghRural Development, Panchayati Raj, Drinking Water and Sanitation

22. Shri Jual Oram: Tribal Affairs

23. Shri Radha Mohan Singh: Agriculture

24. Shri Thaawar Chand Gehlot: Social Justice and Empowerment

25. Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani: Human Resource Development

26. Dr. Harsh Vardhan: Science and Technology, Earth Sciences

Ministers of State

27. General V.K. Singh: Statistics and Programme Implementation (Independent Charge), External Affairs, Overseas Indian Affairs

28. Shri Inderjit Singh Rao: Planning (Independent Charge), Defence

29. Shri Santosh Kumar Gangwar: Textiles (Independent Charge)

30. Shri Bandaru DattatreyaLabour and Employment (Independent Charge)

31. Shri Rajiv Pratap Rudy: Skill Development & Entrepreneurship (Independent Charge), Parliamentary Affairs

32. Shri Shripad Yesso Naik: AAYUSH (Independent Charge), Health & Family Welfare

33. Shri Dharmendra Pradhan: Petroleum and Natural Gas (Independent Charge)

34. Shri Sarbananda Sonowal: Youth Affairs and Sports (Independent Charge)

35. Shri Prakash Javadekar: Environment, Forest and Climate Change (Independent Charge)

36. Shri Piyush Goyal: Power (Independent Charge), Coal (Independent Charge), New and Renewable Energy (Independent Charge)

37. Dr. Jitendra Singh: Development of North Eastern Region (Independent Charge), Prime Minister’s Office, Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions, Department of Atomic Energy, Department of Space

38. Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman: Commerce and Industry (Independent Charge)

39. Dr. Mahesh SharmaCulture (Independent Charge), Tourism (Independent Charge), Civil Aviation

40. Shri Mukhtar Abbas NaqviMinority Affairs, Parliamentary Affairs

41. Shri Ram Kripal YadavDrinking Water & Sanitation

42. Shri Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary: Home Affairs

43. Shri Sanwar Lal Jat: Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation

44. Shri Mohanbhai Kalyanjibhai Kundariya: Agriculture

45. Shri Giriraj SinghMicro, Small & Medium Enterprises

46. Shri Hansraj Gangaram AhirChemicals & Fertilizers

47. Shri G.M. Siddeshwara: Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises

48. Shri Manoj Sinha: Railways

49. Shri Nihalchand: Panchayati Raj

50. Shri Upendra Kushwaha: Human Resource Development

51. Shri Radhakrishnan P.: Road Transport & Highways, Shipping

52. Shri Kiren Rijiju: Home Affairs

53. Shri Krishan Pal: Social Justice & Empowerment

54. Dr. Sanjeev Kumar Balyan: Agriculture

55. Shri Manuskhbhai Dhanjibhai Vasava: Tribal Affairs

56. Shri Raosaheb Dadarao Danve: Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution

57. Shri Vishnu Deo Sai: Mines, Steel

58. Shri Sudarshan Bhagat: Rural Development

59. Prof. (Dr.) Ram Shankar KatheriaHuman Resource Development

60. Shri Y.S. Chowdary: Science and Technology, Earth Science

61. Shri Jayant SinhaFinance

62. Col. Rajyavardhan Singh RathoreInformation & Broadcasting

63. Shri Babul Supria (Babul Supriyo) BaralUrban Development, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation

64. Sadhvi Niranjan JyotiFood Processing Industries

65. Shri Vijay SamplaSocial Justice & Empowerment.

Courtesy Niti Central


Latest News