Cabinet expansion: Parrikar, Prabhu, Rathore among 21 new Ministers.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi today expanded his Cabinet with 21 Ministers. While former Goa CM Manohar Parrikar, BJP national general secretary JP Nadda and Shiv Sena’s Suresh Prabhu were sworn-in as Cabinet Ministers, 18 took oath as Ministers of State. It is believed that Shiv Sena has refused to consider Prabhu as their choice and had asked their other nominee Anil Desai to return from Delhi Airport.

Among the Ministers of State, former Finance Minister in Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s Government Yashwant Sinha’s son Jayant Sinha, Arjuna awardee and a shooter of international fame, Rajyavardhan Rathore, singer turned MP from West Bengal, Babul Supriyo, Ram Kripal Yadav, Giriraj Kishore, Rajiv Pratap Rudy and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi.

While speculations are rife about who gets what, the announcement from the Government will be made only after 4 pm. The inclusion of Hansraj Ahir, who was among the first to expose the coal scam was a clear statement that no mal-practices will be tolerated. Despite various rifts, inclusion of Suresh Prabhu shows that PM Modi is clear about his preference for experience and competence and can rise above political difference when it comes to deliverance.

Courtesy Niti Central

Latest News